top of page

Q&A with CEO and Head Designer of Alex Carter

One very prominent designer from Chicago who's work I have been engrossed by is Chelsey Alexandrea Carter. Carter is the CEO and head designer of Alex Carter, a clothing brand which was launched 2013. Carter who graduated from the Art Institute of Chicago creates designs which are unique and full of poise. The Alex Carter brand includes a variety of over sized flared pants and cross stitched jackets with solid "soft" colors.

"Ode to Femininity" collection was strongly inspired by Frida Kahlo (a remarkable Mexican painter whose work includes many self-portraits) "Frida represents most women's personal and professional struggles. Most people do not know her real story. She has been an inspiration to me since college...she and her work has been called "a ribbon around a bomb", this ideology I think defines the way people view my work as well," Carter said. Alex Carter brand can also be described as contemporary and edgy.

According to Carter she pulls inspiration from just about everywhere- "I am inspired by everything, politics, the environment, society, social interactions, summer days, fall nights, love, hate! Everything. Naturally, these things are illustrated in my work. Not necessarily literally, but by way of expression, drive and ambition," she said.

In this Q&A Chelsey Carter reflects on what brands she rocked as a child, the importance of collaboration, current fashion trends, and what fashion means to her.

Chelsey Carter (Photographer Maya Iman @mayaiman for @offkiltermag)

 

Angelica : What does fashion mean to you and what do you hope to gain from fashion?

Chelsey Carter: Fashion to me is a portal/platform I have been given to showcase my talent and express the way I feel. It's a non verbal conversation with people that have known me for years and others I have never met in my life. I hope to empower women and men across the nation to feel self confident and to love the bodies they were blessed with! Be bold in your thoughts, actions and in your personal style! Life is much too short not to!

Angelica: Frida Khalo is a major inspiration to you and has inspired some work of yours. I read that she inspired your Ode to Femininity collection. Can you describe what Frida Khalo represents for you?

Chelsey: Frida represents most women's personal and professional struggles. Most people do not know her real story. She has been an inspiration to me since college. I wanted to shine a little bit of light on who she is and what she has represented to me and to inspire others to look into her story. She had major self doubt and insecurities that lead her to depression. Her mental state of mind was what she used to create her work. While we are not the exact same person, I can relate to being a woman in ANY industry. It's hard at times but worth it. She and her work has been called "a ribbon around a bomb", this ideology I think defines the way people view my work as well. Frida was a remarkable artist and I respect her craft, story and existence on this earth.

Angelica: Which fashion trends are you loving right now?

Chelsea: Vinyl!!! I love it! Lacing!

 

Angelica: What brands were you rocking or looking up to growing up?

Chelsey: Oh man, Tommy, Nike, Polo, Guess, I know I owned Oshkosh. I went to church school from kindergarten until 8th grade. Uniforms everyday. I predominately had a lot of sneakers, my dad made sure of it. That might be why I don't care as much about sneakers now.

 

"Knowing someone trusts in you enough to bring something to fruition is the best form of pressure!"

 

Angelica: You designed many amazing pieces for people such as Lili K and collaborated on creating pieces like the super edgy CTRL jacket which was gifted to SZA. What would you say your favorite thing is about the process of creating and collaborating?

Chelsey: I've been working with some of the musicians in this city for what seems like a very long time. Lili is an amazing vocalist who knew what she wanted. It was nice to bring her items to life. The SZA jacket I was contacted by my good friend Emma who has an amazing hand for cross stitching and is an all around great person! She contacted me to create something special, together, for SZA. I designed the jacket that was spearheaded and embellished by Emma. It came out lovely! Collaborating with people is difficult but also such a joy! Knowing someone trusts in you enough to bring something to fruition is the best form of pressure!

Angelica: What motivates you each day to keep going, to continuously think outside of the box, and explore different creative directions?

Chelsey: In all honesty, I am not always motivated each day to do things. I've been pushing myself since I was 8 years old to rise above my circumstances, never play the victim, make no excuses! As a result of this, things have gotten done! But I am covered in God's grace and mercy, I know he is my motivator and tour guide throughout my life's journey!

 
"Diego On My Mind" pants. Model: @prince.fufu Photographer:@falynhuang

"Diego On My Mind" pants from the "Ode to Femininty" collection modeled by @prince.fufu. Photographed by @falynhuang.

Angelica: Any additional comments?

Chelsea: Thank you for reaching out to me on behalf of my brand! Means a lot to have your work noticed! Can't wait to read this!

 

Thank you Chelsey Carter ! To keep up with Chelsey and the Alex Carter brand follow her via Instragram @alexandreacarte or visit www.shopalexcarter.com !

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page