top of page

Q&A WITH SINGER/SONGWRITER COURTNIE

The uber talented singer and songwriter Courtnie, who is based in NYC, recently dropped her latest EP which is called 'I Feel Like Color'. Each song is fire, I literally could not take "Dip" nor "U Don't Have to Call" off of repeat. Courtnie described her music as a combination of soul and funk and I definitely got that (as well as some jazz) from 'I Feel Like Color'. I enjoy all the "feels" that this EP provides. It is, in my opinion, centered around love and the various emotions that accompany being in love.

Courtnie explained that she has been singing for as long as she can remember and that music is so dear to her because of how vibrant and uplifting it can be- "music definitely adds clarity and brings color to my life. No matter the genre or tempo" Courtnie said.

In this interview Courtnie describes how cities like Chicago and St.Louis has inspired her as an artist. She also shares information on finding her own sound, favorite artists, dream collabs and more. Read the full Q&A below.

 

Angelica: When did you start singing?

Courtnie: I don't remember day 1 because I've been singing for as long as I can remember, but it started in the church. Classic black American artist story. I only started writing my own stuff a few years ago though. Angelica: Can you describe what music does for/to you?

Courtnie: Music definitely adds clarity and brings color to my life. No matter the genre or tempo.

Angelica: How did you discover your own distinct sound musically?

Courtnie: That's still in the works lol. But I get a lot of inspiration from soul and funk, the Anita Baker's and Chaka Khan's. Angelica: How has New York played a role on your musical style?

Courtnie: Honestly, the Midwest has played more of a role than New York. Chicago birthed my love for jazz and soul music, and I discovered how many modern twists could be put on things somewhere in between pre-Kardashian Ye and pre-controversial R. Kelly (if that R. Kelly exists). St. Louis gave me independence from wanting to feel/be defined, and their music scene is hitting right now in general. Seeing how hard all the artists from there are working right now pushes me further. Angelica: “Dip” was just dropped on all platforms and the song is amazing! How do you feel now that it’s been released?

Courtnie: I feel great! And my full project I Feel Like Color is also available on all platforms now. I hope it reaches the people it needs to reach.

 

"I guess I want to do for other people what music has always done for me. Bring clarity as I mentioned, bops, and the realization that we aren't alone"

 

Angelica: What do you hope to give to the people through your work?

Courtnie: I guess I want to do for other people what music has always done for me. Bring clarity as I mentioned, bops, and the realization that we aren't alone. Higher highs and lows that don't feel as isolating when you know you aren't the first person who's been through something and you won't be the last. And also, a spiritual experience. You know how there are some artists out there that just make you feel like you resurrected? Frank, Erykah, Bey, Solo, MJ... Daniel Caesar's most recent project for me. Obviously all those fall under one genre and although I listen to all kinds, I'm here for black R&B artists right now.

Angelica: If you could pull together three people to collaborate on a song with you who would you choose?

Courtnie: At first I read this without the "with you" and when I went back to review I was like omg with meee?! I'd have to say Hiatus Kaiyote, The-Dream, aaand Anderson .Paak. Angelica: I loved the “Hearts Desire” music video, the styling, colors, locations etc. Are you in total control of the creative direction of your brand?

Courtnie: Although I don't have a sole creative director, people have definitely been assisting me along the way. I have visions and ideas, but for Heart's Desire in specific, my girl Marisa directed and creative directed for the most part. My friends are incredible, and when I've got decision fatigue (almost always these days) because I'm managing my brand from all angles -- organization-wise, analytically, and creatively -- they're always there to contribute. I'm super grateful. Angelica: I’m so excited about your new single, when can we expect a video for “Dip”?

Courtnie: Video is on the way, but only time will tell :) Whoever wants to keep up can follow me @kingcourtnie wherever <3 Angelica: Will you be putting out a mixtape or album soon?

Courtnie: I Feel like Color is officially available on all platforms! Album is next. Angelica: How would you describe your music?

Courtnie: Soulful, relatable, and funkier by the day. Angelica: Your top 5 favorite artists of all time?

Courtnie: I'm awful at this question. Beyonce, Solange, Frank, and MJ. Not going to try to pick a 5th because I'll spit out 50 instead but.... "In a Sentimental Mood" but John Coltrane & Duke Ellington is my shit. I know that's a song and not an artist lol. Has the same effect though. Angelica: By this time next year what can we expect Courtnie to have accomplished?

Courtnie: An album! More brand collabs. And my music featured in my favorite black as hell tv shows.

Angelica: Any additional comments?

Courtnie: Thanks for reaching out! Honored to be featured.

Thank you Courtnie ! Keep up with Courtnie via Instagram @kingcourtnie

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page